Governance and management


Founded in 1950 by Protestant churches, IMA World Health serves as an ecumenical membership agency representing 11 faith based organizations. Our mission to serve the most vulnerable is grounded in our belief that we are stronger together than we are alone.  Members gather annually for a Members meeting to provide ultimate governance and oversight of IMA in electing its Board of Directors, affirming the agency’s chief executive, and funding and collaborating on IMA programs. Together, IMA and our Members share resources, collaborate on projects and share a common goal of advancing health and development through faith networks.

Members are:
  • Adventist Development and Relief Agency
  • American Baptist Churches USA
  • Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Week of Compassion
  • Church of the Brethren
  • Church World Service
  • Episcopal Relief & Development
  • Global Ministries, The United Methodist Church
  • Lutheran World Relief
  • Mennonite Central Committee
  • Presbyterian Church (USA)
  • United Church of Christ

Board of Directors

IMA World Health is governed by a Board of Directors made up of Member agency representatives and members-at-large. The Board is the principal governing body guiding strategy and ensuring accountability and the achievement of our mission.


Lisa Rothenberger

Lisa Rothenberger-Winter has served International Ministries, the global mission organization of the American Baptist Churches USA for 15 years.  Her ecumenical connections include eight years on the Board of Church World Service and service on IMA’s Board since 2010.

Vice Chair

Dr. Gregg Sylvester

Dr. Gregg Sylvester is a preventive medicine expert with a passion for disease prevention and health promotion on a local, statewide and global basis. He has extensive experience in corporate pharmaceutical work, and has served the state of Delaware in a variety of public health roles.


Bjorn Sorenson

Bjorn Sorenson serves as counsel, consultant and coach to mission-driven social entrepreneurs, businesses and leaders. Bjorn has advised diverse stakeholders in post-conflict and developing countries on complex issues of economic development, investment regulation, international law and human rights.

Executive Committee Member-At-Large

Sarah Newhall

As the president and CEO of Pact, Inc. from June 2000 until May 2009, Sarah Newhall was responsible for the overall leadership and strategic management of nearly 1,000 employees across the globe. She led to Pact becoming a premier grant-maker for USAID funds.


Sonya Funna Evelyn

Sonya Funna Evelyn is the Director for the Program Technical Support Unit at ADRA International. In this role, Sonya works with a team of technical experts in the design and backstopping of U.S. government grants and in producing best practice products from across the ADRA network.

Members of the Board

Jeff Jordan

Jeff Jordan is president and CEO of the Population Reference Bureau, or PRB. Prior to PRB, he was the senior vice president for international programs at the Catholic Medical Mission Board. At the CMMB, Jordan provided oversight and strategic input to all international programs in HIV/AIDS, maternal and child health, neglected and tropical diseases, and gender.

Dr. Deborah McFarland

Dr. Deborah A. McFarland is a professor in the Hubert Department of Global Health and the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Rollins School of Public Health of Emory University. Dr. McFarland is the director of the Foege Fellowship program, the Global Field Experience Program and the Peace Corps Master’s International Program in addition to her teaching and research activities.

Martine Polycarpe

Martine Polycarpe is a 15-year veteran of the international health and development profession. Her experience includes leading, managing and contributing to USAID and World Bank programs in Africa, Asia and Latin America.

Shannon Trilli

Shannon Trilli is the Director of Corporate Responsibility for McGraw Hill Financial. Shannon previously served at the Director of Global Health for the United Methodist Committee on Relief, where she designed, scaled and led UMCOR’s Signature Health and Sustainability Program to provide funding and technical support to community-based health organizations.

Abagail Nelson

Abagail Nelson is the Senior Vice President for Programs at Episcopal Relief & Development. She has worked throughout Africa, Asia, Latin America and the United States with the worldwide Church, responding to disasters, alleviating hunger, fighting disease and reducing exposure to risk for more than 15 years.

Executive leadership

Rick Santos

President & CEO

Jim Cox

Chief Operating Officer

Dr. Dragana Veskov

Vice President, International Public Health Programs

Roberto Flores

Chief Financial Officer

Senior Management

Imran Babayev

Director of Accounting

Randa Canawati

Director of International Finance

Susan Duberstein

Senior Technical Director for Programs

Matthew Hackworth

Director of Communications

Mary Linehan

Senior Quality Improvement Director

Ron Otteson

Director of Internal Audit

Nino Willsea

Senior Director of Contracts and Grants